The Spanish-Portuguese Relativity Meetings are annual conferences on General Relativity and Gravitation, that date back to 1977. They are organized each year by one of the different groups doing research on Relativity and Gravitation in Portugal and Spain. The 2016 meeting is organized by the Department of Physics of Instituto Superior Técnico and of Faculdade de Ciências, in the University of Lisbon.

In 2016, we celebrate the centenary of the most famous solution of the field equations, the Schwarzschild solution, and the many phenomena that it describes. The topics of the plenary lectures will revolve around three main areas of research, namely Relativistic Astrophysics and Cosmology, Mathematical Relativity, and the interface between Gravitation and Quantum Theory, and reflect the intended broad scope of the meeting.

The meeting will take place at Fundação Calouste Gulbenkian. Founded in 1956 by Calouste Sarkis Gulbenkian, the Foundation promotes knowledge in the fields of the arts, science and education. Headquartered in Lisbon, the Foundation has delegations in Paris and London. Located in central Lisbon, and well connected to the subway and buses, the Foundation hosts two important museums and is surrounded by wonderful gardens, designed by Ribeiro Teles (1962/1969), and featuring some unique flora.


Plenary Speakers:

Manuela Campanelli (Rochester Institute of Technology, US)

João Costa (ISCTE, Portugal)

Ruth Durrer (Université de Genève, Switzerland)

Roberto Emparan (ICREA and Universitat de Barcelona, Spain)                       

Paulo Freire (Max-Planck-Institute fur Radioastronomie, Germany)

Gustav Holzegel (Imperial College London, UK)

Andrew King (University of Leicester, UK)

David Mota (University of Oslo, Norway)

Gonzalo Olmo (Universitat de València, Spain)

Frans Pretorius (Princeton University, US)

Hans Ringstrom (KTH, Sweden)

Patrick Sutton (Cardiff U., UK)


Venue: Fundação Calouste Gulbenkian


Organizing Commitee: S. Almeida, V. Cardoso, S. Carloni, J. P. S. Lemos, F. Lobo, J. Natário, R. Sousa

Scientific Commitee: Vitor Cardoso, Sante Carloni, José Sande Lemos, Francisco Lobo, José Natário



Acknowledgements: We thank Ana Sousa for designing the logo, the pico guide and for overall support in conceiving the webpage. We thank Fundação Calouste Gulbenkian for logistic and financial support and the European Research Council for financial support.